Skip to content

I’d like to hear from the graduate students

April 28, 2008

I’d like to hear from the graduate students … you had a lot to say at LPSC and when this blog was first started.  How’s it going?  What do you like?  What’s been useful to you so far?

If you could ask a gathering of women scientists any question in the world, what would it be?

What do you need to hear?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    May 29, 2008 11:50 pm

    I meant how much (or much less) money women make compared to their male peers–that’s what I get for typing in a hurry.

  2. Rachel permalink
    May 27, 2008 3:45 pm

    OK grad students–I’ve officially passed over to the rank of postdoc, so you’ll have to speak up more🙂 There were a ton of us at LPSC so there must be some questions or concerns.

    Oh heck, I’ll bring up one final question here since I didn’t pick one in my last post:

    One of the consistently depressing pieces of information out there is how much money women make overall than their male peers. I’m not sure what the current numbers are, but I think we’re still lagging behind. I think a large part of that, though, is that we are not as aggressive/assertive about fighting for more money when we start a new job as we should be. I know I personally feel so grateful to get a job that it doesn’t feel right to start making demands or requests. I made the same mistake in a class once where we were asked what grade we would give ourselves. I said that I felt like you had to truly go above and beyond to deserve an A, so I couldn’t really ask for one, and all (or many, not sure I asked them all) of my male peers said ‘I fulfilled the requirements, so I deserve an A’. They got A’s and I got a B, but we all did the same work. Lesson learned (I hope)!

    Anyway, to those out there with faculty or industry jobs, how do you figure out how much money is reasonable to ask for (either for salary if that is negotiable, or for startup funds, etc.)? I would guess it’s easier if you have competing offers. Are there resources out there to see what are average salaries for similar positions by region, etc?

  3. Rachel permalink
    May 2, 2008 1:40 pm

    I have really enjoyed the balancing work/motherhood stories, and hope to add to them as soon as I start really doing any balancing. I think most of us grad students are in places where if we even have female role models in the department, many don’t have children. Obviously this is a very personal issue for me since I will have a baby in 3 months, but I can’t tell you how much it means to hear that there’s hope out there.

    The astronaut post and some the gender bias in peer-review articles are interesting (though depressing), but I’d like to thank all of you out there who put up with that and worse and are here to tell the story.

    I haven’t thought of one question to ask, but I wanted to reply now so you knew we were still here and listening. Though, in 20 days or so I will not be in the grad student category anymore (yay!)

Leave a Reply

