Skip to content

Call for resources

March 12, 2011

Do you have a favorite piece of advice that you share with graduate students, undergrads, or postdocs that you supervise?  Are you a student who has learned how to get involved with a research group, when to apply for internships, or where to look for online resources?  Have you read an interesting article, book, post, or web site on women in science?

Women in Planetary Science is seeking new contributors OR single posts (as little as a paragraph!) for the web site; to apply, just leave a note in the comments, with your name and/or a pseudonym, and we’ll get back to you right away. 

As always, all those working and/or trained in the field of planetary science are welcome to participate.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 11:18 pm

    Would love to post some advice.

  2. March 15, 2011 1:08 pm

    Susan, I really enjoyed that post, and I’d be interested to see what you’d like to write over here — its main purpose is as a resource for people working in or studying planetary science, but I’m open to new ideas! I’ll send you my email so we can talk off-line.

  3. March 15, 2011 12:42 pm

    Hi Susan – I’d be interested in occasionally contributing…I have a love for women in science. I recently wrote a post on Steve Spangler’s blog – http://www.stevespangler.com/featured/women-scientists-who-made-a-difference/. I’m @ColoScienceMom on Twitter

  4. Matt Pritchard permalink
    March 14, 2011 1:31 pm

    The range of careers of the women planetary scientists profiled on this website are an important resource. A few years ago a group of graduate students at Caltech compiled the career paths of all graduates from the department from 1987-2004 and found two surprising things: 1) the percentage of planetary science graduates still involved in science careers was 85% and 2) the fraction of planetary science gradautes in tneure track faculty jobs was 1/2 or less of their peers in the Earth Sciences (17% compared to about 35-40%). This website is well illuminating all these different fulfilling science career paths pursued by all these alumni, but I think the second point should be better known. I know far too many disappointed planetary scientists who set a faculty position as their career objective without understanding the stastics. If you are interested, I would like to write a short entry about what we learned from this alumni survey and remake the website with the raw data since the link is currently dead.

    In any case, thanks for this excellent website for the community,
    Matt Pritchard, Cornell University

    • March 15, 2011 12:32 pm

      Matt, yes, that would be fantastic! It’s still the career advice no one wants to talk about: there are simply not enough tenured positions open each year for all the graduates that the field produces.

      I’d be happy to post an article from you, or to add you to the web site if you’d like to join as a regular contributor.

  5. Kate Craft permalink
    March 14, 2011 11:14 am

    Hi all!
    Great seeing everyone at LPSC and at the breakfast! Susan, I’d love to write for the blog too. Just let me know what I can do to help. I have a few ideas for post topics.

    Thanks!

    • March 15, 2011 12:25 pm

      Great, Kate! I’ve send you a note via email and we’ll talk again later this week!

      • lovenstars permalink
        March 15, 2011 12:32 pm

        Thanks Susan, I’ve set up an account so just let me know when you’re ready for me to contribute! 🙂 I’ll draft up a post and send it to you to see what you think. Thanks!

  6. Geochem mom permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:47 am

    I am willing/ able to contribute something monthly or so…

    • March 15, 2011 12:24 pm

      Great! Your invitation has been sent to your email box! Thanks!

  7. Lillian Ostrach permalink
    March 13, 2011 8:45 pm

    Hi Susan and everyone!

    Reiterating what I said at the LPSC Breakfast regarding recommendations…. for *students*, ask for a POSITIVE recommendation from a faculty/staff member and provide the recommender with some additional, detailed information. For *faculty/staff*, be sure to ask your student for some detailed examples so that you can write a letter that stands out with specifics.

    Also, students and postdocs – look into the grad student / professional student organization at your institution if there is one because there may be funding opportunities there. At ASU, the GPSA (Graduate and Professional Student Organization) offers travel and professional development grants every month. The application process is easy and takes a couple of hours at most and can substantially defray costs associated with conference or field camp travel. Also, there are several research grants that are annually and biannually offered – as a rep told me, “we have all this money and we just want to GIVE it to you!”

    Susan, I would be very happy to participate in the Women in Planetary Science Blog as a contributor (regularly, occasionally, once in awhile as time permits….). My tried and true “pseudonym” is lostrack621 (play on my last name/words/my craziness) and I look forward to hearing from you!🙂

    P.S. Great seeing everyone at LPSC.❤

    • March 15, 2011 12:16 pm

      You’re on, Lillian! I’ll send you an invite in your email!

  8. March 13, 2011 8:21 pm

    My advice for undergrads is to make sure that they have options of who to work for in graduate school. What if Professor Smith gets a brain tumor? Or Professor Jones turns out to be a bear to work for? Or that Professor Katz’s research turns out to not be as exciting as you thought when you were 21 or 22? Make sure there are at least two professors who are working on interesting topics, and that it’s easy to switch advisors.

    Also, are the grad students in the program fun? Will you enjoy interacting/drinking/grousing/working with them for years?

    Is the bureaucracy such that you won’t be able to register for classes/get reimbursed for conferences/get paid as a TA?

    Do other students get clear advice in terms of expectations, performance, classes, conference attendance, who to go to if you’re having problems?

    If you want writers, I’d gladly volunteer. Thank you, Susan, for all that you do.

    • March 15, 2011 12:05 pm

      Sondy, you’re on. I’d love to hear more of this! Look for an invitation to join wordpress in your email. After you set up an account, it will add you to the Women in Planetary Science blog!

    • March 15, 2011 2:49 pm

      As a grad student who has dealt with undergrads at my university I’m chock full of advice😉 If Sondy writes some stuff then I could probably play counterpoint (I had one advisor option, didn’t really hangout with my classmates etc etc) though I’ll hazard that I’m coming from the more pure astro end and really feel that I don’t fit in either astro or planetary science because I’m somewhere in the middle so people might have to take my advice with a grain of salt.

      And given that I’m dissertating (and the little countdown clock on my computer is saying one month and one week until my Aprill 22nd defense, ack!), I’ve also spent some of the last year playing with toys like reference managers to keep me sane and my pdfs organized and tidy and can be used to manage collaborations that I can write about too🙂

      • March 31, 2011 12:55 pm

        Erin, that sounds great! I’ll shoot you an email privately and invite you to join — but promise me one thing — that the blog will NOT interfere with your diss prep!

        Good luck on your defense!

  9. March 12, 2011 9:51 pm

    Saw this on the AASWomen Newsletter:

    Dear AASWomen,

    The CSWA has begun compiling resources on topics of interest to
    students and professional women, especially women in astronomy. Web
    pages have now been published on the first two topics, the two-body
    problem and work-life balance. Additional pages are planned, and a
    page on the next topic, sexual harassment, is now in preparation. An
    index and a list of general resources are here:

    http://www.aas.org/cswa/resources.html

    • March 13, 2011 12:59 pm

      Awesome. Our top-links could use a refresh, since this blog has been around for 3+ years – let’s link up new work from other organizations, and make sure that people reading this blog know where to go for more info!

      I always recommend:
      American Geophysical Union ($20 annual fee; includes EOS subscription)
      American Astronomical Society – CSWA and American Physical Society – CSWP (web sites & lists)
      Planetary Exploration Newsletter mailing list (for all the latest news for planetary scientists)
      Science Careers (much is free online; the rest can be had for free with $99 AAAS subscription, which includes weekly issues of Science)

      What else?

Leave a Reply

