Skip to content

Do you love what you do?

September 12, 2011

Do you love what you do? I’m assuming you love space science, or you wouldn’t be sitting there at your desk reading this, or catching a moment to look at it on your ipad over break or lunch.  But do you love what you *do* everyday?

It’s an interesting question, one that was brought to mind by the words of the gentleman scientists over at The Finch and the Pea.  Mike  speaks of graduate students running repetitive experiments or tending cell cultures, and he makes the point that there are several ways to do science – precision data taking being only one of them.  In our field, the opportunities are even larger, with our day jobs consisting of everything from spectroscopy on nm size interstellar dust to field work to driving a rover on Mars or planning the next mission to just about any target in the Solar System.

Planetary Science is a wide-ranging field, with many different ways to contribute.

What do you find yourself doing most, and is that the part of your work that you most enjoy?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sutari permalink
    September 13, 2011 2:53 pm

    The other day my 10-year old said to me, “Mom, what do you DO all day?!? ’cause I have been to your work and all you do is sit around answering messages!”

    My husband leapt to my defense, adding that the key is that I know HOW to answer those messages.

    I told her last night that I had just spent a particularly crazy day answering LOTS of messages and needing to do things in between to be able to answer them and trying to keep track that I had done it all, all the while with a clock ticking ever louder in the background as the deadline approached.

    Do I love what I do? Some days it is actually very satisfying. Other days not so much. But I can certainly think of plenty of things worse than answering messages all day.

  2. spacegeek permalink
    September 12, 2011 11:21 am

    I spend 75-90% of my days in meetings. And amazingly, I love meetings! Particularly the working ones where the synergy of brains come together and are greater than each brain separately. We can produce the most innovative, creative solutions to space flight problems. It is fantastic to be part of that process. I love my work and feel so fortunate to have found my niche! I look forward to coming to work (almost) every day!

Leave a Reply

