Skip to content

WiPS in the News

July 29, 2015

Congratulations to our female planetary science colleagues who have recently received awards for their research and accomplishments!  See below for details!

Dr. Hiroko Nagahara, a professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Science at the University of Tokyo has received the 2015 J. Lawrence Smith Medal from the National Academy of Sciences. She was recognized for “her contributions toward understanding chondrule formation and kinetics of evaporation and condensation processes in the early solar system.” First awarded in 1888, Dr. Nagahara is the first woman to receive this award, which includes $50,000.
Dr. Natalia Artemieva has received the Meteoritical Society’s 2015 Barringer Award for her “seminal contributions to the understanding of dynamic impact cratering physics and chemistry.”  Dr. Artemieva is a Senior Scientist at the Planetary Science Institute and the first woman since 1984 to receive this award.
Dr. Carle’ Pieters (Brown University) has received the Shoemaker Distinguished Lunar Scientist Medal, given annually since 2009 by the NASA SSERVI. Dr. Pieters was recognized for “her significant scientific contributions to the field of lunar science throughout the course of her scientific career”.
Graduate students Erica Jawin (Brown University) and Tanya Harrison (University of Western Ontario) have been named Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellows. Erica investigates the mineralogy of lunar dark mantle deposits, while Tanya studies the mechanisms of crater modification on Mars. You can read more about their research projects here by searching on their names.  Note that applications for the 2016 Fellowships must be received or post-marked by November 15, 2015.
Graduate student Holly Farris (University of Arkansas) has received a Lewis and Clark grant for field research in the Atacama Desert.  The Lewis and Clark Fund “encourages exploratory field studies for the collection of specimens and data and to provide the imaginative stimulus that accompanies direct observation.” Note that the application deadline is February 1 (with notification in May, for work in June and beyond), while letters of support are due January 29 of every year.
Finally, Congratulations to the “women of Pluto”! The world watched eagerly as New Horizons returned images and data from Pluto and Charon.  About 25% of the New Horizons team consists of female scientists.  Three of them, deputy project scientists Dr. Kimberly Ennico Smith and Cathy Olkin, and mission operations manager Alice Bowman, were additionally profiled by PBS. Read their interview here.

Did I miss anyone? Add them in the comments. Congratulations to all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2015 4:04 pm

    And congrats to Padma Yanamandra-Fisher for winning the Space Science Institute’s award for Outstanding Public Outreach!!

  2. September 19, 2015 11:13 am

    After this post went up, Christina Richey was also awarded the Division for Planetary Sciences Masursky award for Meritorious Service to Planetary Science :-). Congrats to Christina!

  3. September 19, 2015 11:12 am

    Sorry for the delayed response, but Congrats All!

  4. August 22, 2015 1:42 pm

    Congrats all! this blog is really awesome.

  5. astrodivanz permalink
    August 3, 2015 12:31 pm

    Congratulations to Dr. Bethany Ehlmann (CalTech) for receiving the AGU’s James B. Macelwane Medal! With four others, she was acknowledged for “significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding early career scientist.” For more on the Macelwane Medal, see .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: