Skip to content

Childcare Opportunity at MetSoc

May 5, 2017

E-mail from

Karen Ziegler <kziegler@unm.edu>

Dear MetSoc2017 participants,

If you are interested in taking advantage of a childcare opportunity during the week of MetSoc 2017 in Santa Fe, please respond to me BY MAY 31st!

Please let me know HOW MANY kids you’d like to register –  and their AGE/S.

I am in contact with a professional childcare provider in Santa Fe; she is licensed and insured and has >30 years of experience, and has a team of people.

After May 31st, once I will have all of your childcare registrations, I will communicate with you about the details of the childcare options. I want to make sure that it will be a safe and enjoyable experience for both your kids and you parents.

Unfortunately, this service (including supplies, meals, etc.) will not be free, and we will have to charge you for it.

Looking forward to seeing all of you very soon in Santa Fe,

 

Karen

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rajani Dhingra permalink
    May 5, 2017 11:09 am

    I am glad a child care option exists at some scientific conferences at least. I hope its not super-expensive so that a Grad student can afford it. Also I wonder how can we implement these in other larger conferences like DPS, LPSC or smaller meetings.

    • May 9, 2017 10:30 pm

      HI Rajani – thanks for your note, there were a lot of discussions about childcare at LPSC, and someone is supposed to write up a summary of those discussions but we just haven’t gotten to it yet! A big problem is the cost of insurance for childcare in someplace like a hotel was prohibitively expensive :(. But hopefully we can get those notes up at some point in the future for people’s reference. It seems to be very venue specific.

Leave a comment